Baking Bread

I don’t know what it is, maybe, that I’ve been abnormally glued to my Google Reader scanning food blog after food blog, but I’ve been making bread lately.  My 5-year-old twins and I made 40-minute Hamburger Buns the other night for dinner, and yesterday, I adapted a recipe for cottage cheese bread that I saw at Culinary Concoctions by Peabody. My bread didn’t look as normal as hers, in fact, the next time I make it, I’m splitting into two loaves, there was that much dough! It was huge, I ended up baking it on a cookie sheet.  It turned out great, though, I’d show you a picture of it, but I’m a dork and didn’t take any pictures. Half of it went to my sister, a little treat for driving me to my doctors appointment, and the other half quickly got gobbled down by me and my family (mostly my husband).

Greek Cottage Cheese Bread

2 TBSP active dry yeast
½ cup warm water (110F)
½ cup cottage cheese (I used 4% milk fat)
½ cup feta cheese, crumbled
2 TBSP granulated sugar
1 heaping TBSP fresh onion, minced
½ cup kalamata olives, pitted and chopped
½ TBSP salt
¼ tsp baking soda
2 whole eggs
2 tsp olive oil
5-6 ½ cups Better for Bread Flour(or all-purpose) (I used 5 cups all-purpose flour)

Dissolve yeast in the warm water at the bottom of the mixing bowl. Let sit for about 5 minutes until it becomes creamy in color.
Add all the ingredients except the flour and mix well.
Attach the dough hook to the mixer. Add flour 1 cup at a time until you have a soft dough…it’s pretty sticky too. Knead bread for 5 minutes. If you are doing it by hand, knead for about 8 minutes.
Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and place in a warm place. Let rise until dough has doubled, about 1 ½ hours.
When dough has doubled, punch it down, divide into two batches, and shape into a log shape the size of your loaf pan. Place each into a greased 9-inch loaf pan.
Cover loaf with plastic wrap and again place in a warm place. Let rise again for about an hour.
When loaf has risen, preheat oven to 350F.
Bake loaf for 30 minutes, then cover with aluminum foil to prevent over browning and bake another 15-20 minutes longer. Let cool for 5 minutes and then remove from pan and continue to cool on a rack.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    peabody said,

    Great idea to use the baking sheet. I guess I just have a really large loaf pan. :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

